Family, Opinion, Parenting, Relationship and marriage, Weather, Writing

The Glow

One of my boys, T1, is having a great weekend.

Yesterday, he and Hubster went to the International Air Show. Two wannabe fly-boys took off (see that?) early yesterday morning and wandered the dust bowl of Avalon in near-40°C heat. And today? Well he loves Sundays anyway, so he is glowing. T2 and our girl are also enjoying the day. I’m sure we’ll see the iridescence tarnish soon enough though. They are, after all, only children.

I, on the other hand, am sporting a nasty scrape on my left knee, a sprain on my right ankle, and a teeny bruise on my left cheek. On Friday, I was out with one my friends (note: I was NOT drunk), wearing a pretty dress and platform wedges. We were on our way back to her place, where I had left my car. I stepped on a twig, which caused me to stumble and fall to the ground like a sack of potatoes. In a moment of dashing chivalry, a friend from the group we’d just left ran to my aid to ensure I was not badly injured. Very embarrassing! Without a glimmer, I stood, assured everyone I was fine and limped bravely back with my friend.

So now, with an ice-pack on my ankle, and Betadine on my knee, I rest and feel happy with my family around me.

Things can always be worse, right?

Photo by Jake Kokot on Unsplash

7 thoughts on “The Glow”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.